September 20, 2018

22 student-athletes honored for their extraordinary community service

Allstate and the American Football Coaches Association announce the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®

University of Oklahoma linebacker Caleb Kelly is one of 22 college football players to be honored for his community service. Kelly has been active in his community as a volunteer, serving food to needy families and helping at a camp that serves kids with special needs. Photo by Brett Deering/Getty Images

By the time they get to college, these elite student-athletes are used to being honored for their achievements on the field. But through their compassion and commitment to their communities, now these football players are being honored for their activity off the field.

Allstate and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) recently announced the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® with help from an esteemed voting panel, including two-time national champion and former Good Works Team® member, Tim Tebow.

Whittled down from 169 nominations, these 22 college football players and an honorary head coach are recognized for the roles they play in strengthening their communities. From volunteering with local organizations to launching their own nonprofits, these young men exemplify community leadership.

“It is an honor to be involved in a program that embodies the dedication and determination it takes to make positive changes across our country, while inspiring current and future players to do the same,” said Tebow.

Other judges include past winners and prominent college football media members, such as ESPN’s Kirk Herbstreit.

The 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® will be invited to New Orleans to participate in a special community service project ahead of the 2019 Allstate® Sugar Bowl®, where the entire team will also be recognized on the field during a halftime presentation.

The 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® are:

Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Honorees
Sean Pollard, Clemson University
Johnathan Lloyd, Duke University
Dalton Risner, Kansas State University
Kielan Whitner, Syracuse University
Patrick Laird, University of California, Berkeley
Rodrigo Blankenship, University of Georgia
Freedom Akinmoladun, University of Nebraska
Nic Weishar, University of Notre Dame
Caleb Kelly, University of Oklahoma
Chase Moore, University of Texas
D’Cota Dixon, University of Wisconsin

Combined Divisions (FCS, II, III & NAIA) Honorees
Jared Henning, Bemidji State University
Kyle Kilgore, Bethel University (Minn.)
Drew Bevelhimer, Butler University
Hunter Sego, DePauw University
Nathan Clayberg, Drake University
Ethan Levin, Macalester College
Trent Solsma, Morningside College
Nick Leverett, North Carolina Central University
Easton Stick, North Dakota State University
Jackson Erdmann, Saint John’s University (Minn.)
Jon Dicke, Southwest Minnesota State University

Honorary Head Coach
Larry Kindbom, Washington University in St. Louis

Fans are encouraged to visit to vote for the 2018 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain now through Nov. 23, 2018. The Team Captain will be honored at this season’s The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

Throughout the season, fans can follow along and join in on the conversation by using #GoodWorksTeam on their social media channels.

Learn more about this year’s selections here.

The Renewal Project

The Renewal Project is an effort by Allstate to highlight, support, and celebrate ordinary people creating extraordinary community renewal.